Attention IT Small Businesses: GSA is developing the Polaris GWAC for businesses like yours!

What is a GWAC?

GWAC stands for Governmentwide Acquisition Contract.  GWACs are a method for the federal government to buy cost-effective, innovative solutions for information technology (IT).  These contracting vehicles can be used by any federal agency to purchase IT services.

What is Polaris?

Polaris is a GWAC that is currently being developed and will be available for small businesses only, to submit a proposal.  GSA has recognized that there are many highly qualified small IT businesses and wants to provide the opportunity for federal agencies to access the services of these firms.

Polaris will consist of four “pools.”  These are the set-aside categories in which GSA will award MULTIPLE IDIQ contracts.

  • Small business
  • HUBZone
  • SDVOSB (Service Disabled Veteran Owned Business)
  • WOSB (Woman Owned Small Business)

The RFP is not officially out at this time.  GSA intends to post the RFP on sometime around December 2021 or January 2022.  If your business provides IT related services with a focus on IT modernization and emerging technologies then it would be beneficial to give the Polaris RFP some consideration. 

For more information visit the following links:

GSA Interact – This site has draft RFP sections as well as the ability for you to sign up to stay informed about Polaris.  Businesses can also submit feedback on the sections of the draft solicitation that are on this site.

Basic Polaris Information – This site has some basic details about Polaris.